Ceyrac

Ceyrac :

Located 620 meters above sea level, this ancient village was once surrounded by high walls that have not entirely disappeared. The village center with church and tower-keep was fortified. The castle was sold to Bonneval monks in 1342. Ceyrac top spread outside the walled part.

Those districts are called : La Bourgade, La Borie, Le Barry Haut, Le Barry Bas.

Instead of the current church (built at the end of the 15th century) there was another very old church that was stuck to the old castle of which still remains tower-keep in ruins. All that remains of this church is Romanesque bell tower.

This church is described as an architectural beauty containing six altars, three silver reliquaries, two silver crosses and two chalices which disappeared during the French Revolution.

Salette chapel :

In 1864, François Martel, would erect a cross on his hill. He spoke with the parish priest. Recently, two parishioners had made a pilgrimage to Our Lady of La Salette in the Alps. It was then decided to build a chapel rather than a cross in the name of Our Lady of La Salette.

The faithful contributed to the chapel construction giving wood for building structures particular. They also worked voluntarily for many days. Completed in 1865, people came to the chapel to ask crops and goods protection.

St Hyppolyte cross :

Located at the lowest point of Ceyrac village between CD 59 and CD 988, dating from the 15th century. Listed as one of the oldest in Rouergue.

image001 (1) image002 image003 image004image005

Ceyrac

Situé à 620 mètres d’altitude, ce village très ancien était autrefois entouré de hautes murailles qui n’ont pas entièrement disparues. Le centre du village avec l’église et la tour-donjon étaient fortifiées. Le château fut vendu aux moines de Bonneval en 1342. Le haut de Ceyrac s’étendit en dehors de la partie fortifiée.

Ces différents quartiers portent un nom : La Bourgade, La Borie, Le Barry Haut, le Barry Bas.

A la place de l’église actuelle (construite fin du XVème ) il existait une autre église très ancienne qui faisait corps à l’ancien château dont il reste encore le donjon en ruines. Il ne reste de cette église que son clocher de style roman.

Cette église est décrite comme une beauté architecturale renfermant six autels, trois reliquaires d’argent, deux croix d’argent, deux calices disparus à la révolution.

La chapelle de la Salette :

En 1864, François Martel, souhaite ériger une croix sur sa colline. Il en parla avec le curé de la paroisse. Récemment deux paroissiens avaient effectué un pèlerinage à Notre-Dame de la Salette, dans les Alpes. Il fut alors décidé une chapelle plutôt qu’une croix au nom de Notre-Dame de la Salette.

Les fidèles contribuèrent à la construction de la chapelle en donnant notamment du bois pour la construction des charpentes. Ils travaillèrent également bénévolement de nombreuses journées. Terminée en 1865, les habitants vinrent à la chapelle pour demander la protection des récoltes et des biens.

La croix de St Hippolyte :

Située au point le plus bas du village de Ceyrac entre le CD 59 et le CD 988, elle date du XIVème. Répertoriée comme étant l’une des plus anciennes du Rouergue.

image001 (1) image002 image003 image004image005